水晶浪涌(Crystal Swell)

宝仕奥莎水晶灯于洛杉矶国际机场(LAX)

建筑- Tom Bradley国际航站楼西侧出入口

宝仕奥莎水晶灯为洛杉矶国际机场(LAX)的Tom Bradley国际航站楼的中场卫星大厅设计并制作了一个独特的照明装置。团队的设计理念被称为“海洋浪涌(ocean swell)”。他们借用了国际航站楼“破浪”屋顶的动态海洋主题,并为其注入了一种“上世纪中叶喷气式飞机时代”的现代简约感。

创新照明装置焕发生机

宝仕奥莎的任务是创造一盏能吸引三层大厅中的旅客的动态照明装置,同时它还能承受高达7级的里氏震级。这是一个设计、工程、施工和安装的挑战,需要多个宝仕奥莎团队贡献他们的创造力和技术。Crystal Swell是我们“挑战接受”思维方式的完美例子。

设计工程

设计工程

大型水晶照明装置看起来总是很精致,但在他们的创作中通常有很多复杂的工程。对于这种照明装置,宝仕奥莎研发团队必须在令人眼花缭乱的设计与重达 4000 公斤且位于洛杉矶国际机场地震活跃区的吊灯之间取得平衡。

不仅仅是一盏漂亮的吊灯

宝仕奥莎的研发团队必须计算、模拟和测试吊灯的各个方面,以确保照明装置符合地震活跃地区的所有安全规定。同时,必须考虑安装。我们如何确保通过建筑的三层楼正确地安装65米的水晶灯带?

不仅仅是一盏漂亮的吊灯
前瞻性设计解决方案

前瞻性设计解决方案

照明装置由永不过时的优雅的透明光学水晶玻璃和抛光不锈钢制成。它由三条装饰有水晶切割棱柱的可弯曲金属带组成的。施工队在中间安装了一个金属结构,然后将水晶带牢固地连接到这个稳定的中心管上。这同时满足了设计要求和安全需求。

创造惊喜

RGBW LED灯带的添加是为了增加额外的连接感和乐趣。机场可以创建各种动态照明场景来庆祝当地或全球的事件。这种添加使得Crystal Swell成为了一个旅客会寻找的景点。

创造惊喜

正面赞扬

“我们一直设想这将是一件杰出的作品,但我必须说,看到它出现在那里,它比我想象的更令人印象深刻,”来自 Corgan 的 Brent Kelley 说,他为该项目提供了建筑和室内设计服务.

7 7级里氏震级

17 米高

65 米水晶灯带

4,000 公斤

了解Crystal Swell团队

创建一个抗震安全和动态的照明装置听起来像是一个人们可能想要传递的设计挑战。想知道宝仕奥莎照明团队如何在不牺牲美观设计的情况下创造出安全、稳定和动态的照明装置吗?请阅读我们的博客,其中包含来自设计和工程团队的采访。

你的照明伙伴

Crystal Swell 只是宝仕奥莎在全球范围内打造的前瞻性设计照明装置的一个例子。无论地点可能带来什么样的挑战,宝仕奥莎的研发团队都能设计出解决方案,而我们的设计团队则确保保留设计的外观和感觉。定制水晶吊灯可以添加到您的项目中。我们会帮助你做到这一点。

Crystal Swell

Preciosa Lighting for Los Angeles 
International Airport (LAX)

The Building - West Gates at Tom Bradley International Terminal

Preciosa Lighting designed and produced a statement lighting installation for West Gates at Tom Bradley International Terminal at Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). The design concept the teams worked on was called ‘ocean swell.’ They borrowed the dynamic oceanic theme of the International Terminal’s “breaking wave” roof and injected it with a feel of “mid-century jet age” modern simplicity. 

Innovative lighting brought to life

Preciosa’s brief was to create a dynamic installation that attracts travellers from three levels and can withstand up to seven degrees on the Richter scale. This was a design, engineering, construction and installation challenge that required multiple Preciosa teams to contribute their creativity and know-how. Crystal Swell is the perfect example of our ‘challenge accepted’ way of thinking.

Design Engineered

Design Engineered

Large crystal lighting installations always look exquisite but there’s typically a lot of tough engineering that goes into their creation. For this lighting, the Preciosa R&D team had to balance the dazzling design with the fact the light weighed 4,000 kilograms and is located in the seismically active area of LAX.

Not Just a Pretty Light

Preciosa’s R&D team had to calculate, simulate and test every aspect of the light to ensure the installation met all safety regulations for seismically active areas. At the same time, installation had to be considered. How can we ensure proper installation of 65 metres of crystal ribbon through the building's three levels?

Not Just a Pretty Light
Design-Forward Solutions

Design-Forward Solutions

The luminaire features timeless and elegant clear optical glass and polished stainless steel. It is created from three flexible metal ribbons lined with crystal cut prisms. The Construction team built a metal structure for the middle of the installation and then securely attached the crystal ribbons to this stable tube. This satisfied the design requirements and the safety issues.

Created to Amaze

RGBW LED strips were added for an extra sense of connection and fun. The airport can create various dynamic lighting scenes to celebrate local or global events. This addition makes Crystal Swell an attraction travellers will seek out.

Created to Amaze

Positive Praise

“We always envisioned that it would be a prominent piece but I must say that seeing it in place, it is even more impressive than I imagined it would be,” said Brent Kelley, from Corgan, who supplied the project’s architectural and interior design services.

7 degrees on the Richter scale

17 metres

65 metres of crystal ribbon

4,000 kilograms

Meet the Crystal Swell Team

Creating a seismically safe and dynamic lighting installation sounds like a design challenge one might want to pass on. Wondering how the Preciosa Lighting team managed to create a safe, stable, and dynamic light without sacrificing the beautiful design? Read our blog post with interviews from the design and engineering teams.

Your Lighting Partner

Crystal Swell is just one example of the design-forward lighting Preciosa creates globally. No matter the challenges a location may bring, Preciosa’s R&D team can engineer a solution, while our Design team ensures the look and feel of the design is preserved. Custom crystal lighting can be added to your project. We’ll help you do it.